Spring in Leseberg Holler

Spring has been good to us so I thought I’d share photo overload of the holler.

WEBvictorygarden2016-17
I enjoy taking this photo every year to see the many changes!
DSC_0841
Nothing like fresh strawberries!  We made strawberry milkshakes and froze quite a bit for the year.
DSC_0843editWEB
I accidentally left the bike out (a habit from childhood you never lose, apparently!) and it didn’t take long for the blackberry and honeysuckle to find it!
DSC_0834
Speaking of blackberries, we’re patiently waiting for summer picking!
lemonbalm
I keep the lemon balm in a pot in the garden because it’s like a weed and will take over if I let it!  Haven loves to garnish her sweet tea with it (and feed it to our goats).
DSC_1323webedit
Speaking of goats, they are still inseparable!
DSC_1243editWEB
The tomatoes are coming along nicely.  I’m dreaming of the day we pick our first ripe tomato this year!
DSC_1424
We decided to try our pepper plants in burlap this year.
DSC_1143
And we found a type of corn that is supposed to grow well in buckets so we’re giving that a try, too.  (I can’t believe how much it has grown since this picture was taken!)
DSC_1419editWEB
Haven can easily hide in the vine tomato plants now.
WEBsundaydiptychXL
Rhonda and me, just living the dream.
DSC_1298
The hens have been laying so well, we can’t sell or eat them all quick enough!  I like to scramble up extras once in a while and feed them back to the gals.  
DSC_1303
They love it (as well as the crushed eggshells added to their food).
DSC_1308
Speaking of extra eggs, I like to hard boil them in the oven!  I find it’s easier than boiling on the stove top.

For these jumbo size eggs from our Rhode Island Reds (Roxy and Rita), I preheat my oven to 325.  I wash and dry the eggs then place them in a muffin tin and pop them in the oven for 30 minutes and then place them in a bowl of ice water for 10 minutes to stop the cooking process.
I like to eat one or two for breakfast sometimes, or add them to salads and other dishes so I cook several at a time.  I leave the shells on and they’ll keep in the refrigerator for a week.

If you give it a try, be sure to adjust your time based on your egg size so you don’t over or undercook.

DSC_1316

Leave a Reply

