Apple Butter Pork Chops {Quick Recipe}

dsc_9647

Wait, wait… just hear me out!

The first time I heard about putting apple butter on pork chops, I hesitated.  Then I remembered my pantry is filled with jars of canned apple butter after our trip to Justus Orchard in September so really, there was nothing to lose.

I’ve had pork roasts slow cooked in apples before so this didn’t seem too off base once I gave it a second thought.  Getting my husband on board with this pork chop idea was the tough part. (Hence the single grainy, dark image I provided you with:  I wasn’t sure this meal would actually happen.  This photo is the only proof I have!)

Here’s a quick recipe if you’re curious.  I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Ingredients:

  • 2 thick pork chops, bone in
  • 1 cup apple butter
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 1/4 c heavy cream

Instructions:

  1. Grill your pork chops.  I’m not going to boss you around about this, every griller cooks their chops a little differently, so do this how you like.  If you’re in to pan frying your chops, that’ll work just fine also!
  2. While your chops are cooking, melt your 2 tbsp butter in a pan over medium heat.
  3. Once your butter is melted and frothy:  add apple butter, chili powder, and brown sugar. Stir well.
  4. Add the heavy cream and bring to bubbling (not boiling) while you stir.
  5. At this point you can add your cooked chops to the pan to marinate a few minutes or just pour the apple butter sauce over each pork chop on your plate.
  6. Serve hot with a side of baked beans or veggies.
One thought on “Apple Butter Pork Chops {Quick Recipe}

  1. Pingback: KITCHEN

Leave a Reply

