Dried Hydrangea Fall Wreath | DIY

dsc_9104webedit

When I was a kid, my dad stuck some brittle hydrangea stalk cuttings into the dirt here and 20 years later, we still have a thriving “snowball bush” (that’s what we call it here in the South).  The acidic pH levels in our soil keep our snowballs a beautiful blue color that fades to purple before drying.

(You can change the color of your hydrangea by adding or subtracting lime/aluminum to your soil; read all about that here.)

After a long and dry summer, the snowballs have begun to dry and I usually clip a few to put in a vase over the fall/winter months, but this year I decided to try a wreath.

dsc_9083webedit

dsc_9081webedit

This is suuuuper simple, y’all.  Like, no-instructions-truly-necessary simple.

I purchased a grapevine wreath and floral wire at my local Dollar Tree and cut some dried/drying hydrangeas from the plant.

dsc_9112webeditdsc_9100webedit

I left a long stalk on the hydrangea so there was wiggle room for wrapping and securing it to the wreath.

I placed hydrangea around the wreath to create a full appearance and secured each piece with the floral wire.

dsc_9113webedit

That’s it.  Seriously!
After you spend some time cleaning up the loose dried petals that fall off and give the wreath a nice “fluff” to make sure it’s full and secured, it’s ready to hang.

For two bucks and some change, I made this fall wreath!

dsc_9128webedit

I found this cute shutter at an antique shop recently and I thought it’d be the perfect place to hang my wreath.  Now I have to figure out where to place this in the house.

Happy Fall, y’all!

Leave a Reply

