Tomato Gravy

dsc_8252edit

I had so many people message me for my tomato gravy recipe after I posted a photo on social media last night that I decided to post it here!

I remember having tomato gravy for the very first time in my mamaw’s kitchen in Kentucky years ago.  I don’t remember my parents ever making it at home so it was a rare treat.  With all the tomatoes we’re still picking in the garden, I couldn’t help but be reminded of this rich Southern dish.  And yes, it’s perfect for breakfast and dinner!

I had to ask my mamaw for her recipe and then I also came across a recipe for it in my new favorite cook book Victuals (pronounced Vittles down here in the South) and they are almost one in the same.

I hope you enjoy this gravy as much as I do!

Tomato Gravy

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons bacon grease (or olive oil)
  • 1/2 Vidalia onion, diced
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups diced tomatoes (or one 14.5 ounce can of fire roasted tomatoes with the juice)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 slices bacon, fried and crumbled

Directions:

  1. In a skillet, heat bacon grease (or olive oil) over medium heat.  Add onions and cook until softened.
  2. Add flour over the onions and stir constantly until onions begin to brown lightly.
  3. Add tomatoes and reduce heat to low, simmering for 25 minutes and stirring frequently.  It will really start to thicken in the last 10 minutes.
  4. Remove from heat and add salt and pepper to taste.
  5. Garnish with crumbled bacon pieces.
  6. Serve immediately with biscuits or as a side dish.

If you have leftovers, refrigerate for up to 2 to 3 days and reheat in the microwave.

6 thoughts on “Tomato Gravy

  1. You have this perfectly ! It is rare to see tomato gravy, much less a recipe ! Wonderful ! And bacon drippings really do add flavor ! We southerners figured out the gravy ! Love this ! Did your grandmother also make ‘Redeye gravy’ and ‘sawmill gravy’ ? Love your blog !

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! Bacon drippings always give that distinct flavor. I’ll try other people’s cooking and if something seems to be missing, it’s usually because they used oil in place of bacon drippings. Doesn’t mean the food isn’t still delicious, but when you grow up in the South that flavor seems to trademark a dish!

      Oh my word, biscuits and sawmill gravy were a weekend breakfast staple growing up, my dad always made it for me! I’ve honestly never had redeye gravy but I just looked it up and it sure sounds delicious. Do you happen to have a specific recipe for it that I could try? I love trying out new recipes.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Redeye gravy is really not much more than frying ham in an iron skillet- remove the ham…then add coffee! it is more like an au jus but somehow the flavor is just wonderful- some put the ham back in but it is not necessary- the drippings from the ham are already salty- I like to add some cracked pepper- that’s it!

        Like

      2. You’re welcome! some add part water and part coffee- just not too much of either! add the coffee and scrape the bits from the pan…then add a bit of water, you will know by taste…should be rich tasting! enjoy! I love ham biscuits with a little dipping bowl of the gravy! yum

        Like

Leave a Reply

