Strawberry Salsa

I stopped by Good Earth  last week for fresh produce and found some gorgeous local strawberries.  Since our tiny strawberry patch is just now ripening, I decided to pick up a quart.  When I found out the market is now carrying locally made ice cream from Southern Swiss Dairy, I knew what I had to make:  strawberry salsa!

Here’s our lovely cast of characters:  fresh strawberries (which you can see I’d already started eating because how can you not?!), a cutting of mint, balsamic vinegar, honey, and the zest of half a lemon.

DSC_5058edit

I wish you could smell these strawberries.  It is divine!

DSC_5060edit

First we’re going to wash and hull about a cup of our strawberries and slice them up.

DSC_5069edit

Next, we’re going to chop up a tablespoon of mint and zest half our lemon.  If you’re interested in growing mint for your afternoon mojitos, you can find it in the garden center of most home improvement stores.  I found mine last year at Home Depot and it grows like a weed, I really don’t think you can kill it!  My herb garden consists of mint and lemon balm right now.  Basically, it centers around what I can use in my sweet tea because I’m really just that southern.

DSC_5074edit

Next we’re going to whisk one and a half teaspoons of balsamic vinegar and one and a half teaspoons honey together in a bowl.  You can find local honey in several stores and at road side stands.  Don’t let anyone tell you all honey tastes the same, there are major differences.  I love the selection of local honey at Red Clay Market, which is where I picked up this orange blossom.

DSC_5070edit

To the honey and balsamic vinegar mixture we’ll add our sliced strawberries, chopped mint and lemon zest.

DSC_5080edit

Now comes the tough part.  We’re going to stir it all together and then we’re going to put it in the fridge to chill and let the flavors mingle.  I’ve always wanted to say that.  I feel like I’m on Food Network or something.

DSC_5083edit

How long you wait to pour this deliciousness over top a heap of ice cream or dip some cinnamon chips into it is really up to you.  I had to wait overnight because by the time I finished photographing it, it was time to make dinner for the family.  I can’t figure out why they insist on eating dinner every. single. night.

The cool thing about being an adult though is that I can eat ice cream in the morning if I want to.  Which I do.  I really, really do.

DSC_5090editDSC_5096edit

Is anyone else impressed by local ice cream?  We could drive to the farm, meet the cow that contributed to the making of this carton of ice cream and shake hands with the person who milked it.  I think that’s pretty cool.

DSC_5098edit

DSC_5111editDSC_5113edit

Here’s our strawberry salsa recipe:

1.5 teaspoons balsamic vinegar

1.5 teaspoons honey

1 cup strawberries; washed, hulled and sliced

1 tablespoon mint, chopped

zest of half a lemon

Whisk balsamic vinegar and honey together.  Add strawberries, mint and lemon zest.  Stir well and let it chill in the refrigerator until ready to serve.

Leave a Reply

